Confused About Electrical Basics

Discussion in 'Electrical & Mechanical Issues' started by dirty6, Jul 16, 2023.

1. dirty6

dirty6 Ranger

After damaging and then replacing our original 560 battery with a poor substitute, we have damaged that battery as well and I've thrown up my hands and elected to upgrade the whole system to a lithium battery.

In consultation with Cary, I successfully took delivery of the same lithium battery CI is now installing with new camper builds. However, since I'm upgrading my system, I have a handful of other steps I have to navigate in order to do this. First, I'll have to swap out my CTEK (I have an older version that won't play nice with lithium) in order to have DC-DC charing from the tow vehicle. Second, I'll have to eventually install a new AC charger/tender. Finally, and this is the root of my question today, I will have to install a battery monitor since my trailer does not have the TriMetric.

I'm an admitted novice at any conversation of anything electrical, so please bear with me. I've consulted with some sales reps/dealers, and I have come to think that the Victron SmartShunt 500a battery monitor is a good solution for what I'm doing. The reasoning: most battery monitors include some sort of LCD screen that has to be mounted inside the trailer. As we all know, real estate is a little tight in the battery compartment and trailer. This SmartShunt actually doesn't have a screen at all - it has integrated bluetooth and relies on the user to "provide the screen" by way of a smart phone connection*. Therefore, the shunt can be installed inside the battery cavity and out of sight, and doesn't need any further bulkhead real estate for mounting a display.

I've reviewed the SmartShunt manual and also perused some YouTube educational videos trying to get a feel for how to handle the install. It honestly seems pretty simple and straight forward, but there is one big hangup that I'm sensing.