Utah Bound, Best Time Of Year?

Discussion in 'Adventures & Excursions' started by Craig, Aug 23, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Craig

Craig Newbie

I'm heading to Utah from NJ next year (In my new 560) Best time of year to go? Favorite places to camp? Favorite places to see? I'm new to this, and would appreciate any advice.

2. abccampinn

abccampinn Novice

Antelope Canyon is on my to do list! Utah has a ton of places to see, any of which won't disappoint.

3. Ken & Peggy

Ken & Peggy Moderator Staff Member Donating Member

Oh, Utah, one of our favorite places... The National Parks of Southern Utah - Zion, Bryce, Arches, Canyonlands, and Capitol Reef - are all amazing and quite different from one another. We were there in July/August (2015)

Colorado/Utah: beautiful parks, wonderful memories

and most places were crowded as you'd expect. September might be a cooler, less busy time to visit.
    In Zion, The Narrows, the hike up the Virgin River between the canyon walls, was a highlight. Also, Angel's Landing hike is spectacular, but that might be restricted now.
    Delicate Arch hike at Arches NP is an iconic site to visit. Moab is an interesting town between Arches and Canyonlands. Great campground in Capitol Reef near Fruita, UT.
    Also, we stayed at a great state park, Goblin Valley, in Green River, UT.
    You just can't make a bad choice in Utah is what I'm trying to say I guess. Give yourself plenty if time to spend exploring the variety of landscapes that each place offers. Enjoy!

Last edited: Aug 23, 2020
  4. Craig

Craig Newbie

Thanks. I'm looking to leave NJ middle of March. Very excited!

5. Craig

Craig Newbie

Thanks for the great info. I'm looking to leave NJ mid March. Very excited!

6. Craig

Craig Newbie

Any trout in the Virgin River?

7. Ken & Peggy

Ken & Peggy Moderator Staff Member Donating Member

Last edited: Aug 23, 2020
  8. Betsey

Betsey Camp-Inn Staff