Battery When Storing In Garage

Discussion in 'Electrical & Mechanical Issues' started by Chris in CA, Jan 20, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Chris in CA

Chris in CA Newbie

So I am getting ready for a little weekend trip and the gaget that displays my battery charge (usually around 12.5 I think), is not showing anything. Should I have kept my trailer connected to an outlet plug in the garrage? If so, should it always be plugged in or just now and again? Finally, will my battery charge back up now that I plugged it in. Can anyone tell I am a bit of a novice? LOL. Thanks for any advice. Chris

2. campdude

campdude Ranger

You should always keep your trailer plugged in when in the garage.

3. Chris in CA

Chris in CA Newbie

Thanks Campdude. I will going forward. I also read the "Battery Primer" post which helped me understand a lot more.

4. Sweeney

Sweeney Ranger

Did you plug in? Is your display showing any numbers? I depleated the battery in mine about 6 weeks after I got it home :\

It happens.

5. rotus8

rotus8 Ranger Donating Member

As CampDude said, you should leave it plugged in all the time when not on the road. The built in charger will keep it in condition. Unfortunately, if the battery has been completely discharged, it is probably damaged. You can plug it in and it will probably charge up and seem to be OK, but its capacity will be reduced somewhat. A complete discharge likely will reduce the capacity by about 30%; that may still be OK for your usage, but it won't last as long as it used to.

If the battery is really deeply discharged, the charger may not recognize it at all and will not attempt to charge it. It is possible to revive a battery that is in this state, but it requires attaching another battery in parallel to get the charger to start up; once it starts charging, remove the booster battery. This might get it going, but it will have reduced capacity.

Kevin and campdude like this.
  6. Chris in CA

Chris in CA Newbie