2016 Raindrop And A Dead Battery?

Discussion in 'Electrical & Mechanical Issues' started by Lynne & Scott, Sep 5, 2018.

1. Lynne & Scott

Lynne & Scott Junior Ranger Donating Member

We are the Second owners of this 2016 Ultra-I went to plug in the cord to charge battery - but it won’t acceot a charge. I followed the troubleshooting in owners manual. The AC outlets work - the 12v and USB ports do not- nor do the lights. I took a multi meter to the 12v and it was dead. I then took the meter to my Jeep to make sure it was working and it read my Jeep battery was good. I took the panel off and exposed the battery- used the meter and it tested dead. It’s too heavy for me to lift out so I will have my husband Scott do so. Any thoughts of possibly jumping it from an external source or do I need to replace it? I read where some have had batteries for 10 years! I do confess to not having it plugged in all the time in my garage (lesson learned). I am a novice at all of this! This unit is filled with extra electronics as well- hoping that’s not going to cause battery issues in the long run. Any and all thoughts/suggestions are welcome.

This is the battery I have found for possible replacement ?
    Amazon.com: NPP NP12-75Ah Rechargeable 12V 75 Ah Sealed Lead Acid Battery With Button Style Terminals: Home Audio & Theater

2. dustinp

dustinp Ranger Donating Member

We just replaced ours at 11+ years after noticing it was only lasting about a day and a half between charges when I was at Oshkosh at the end of July, rather than the 3-5 days it normally lasted without being totally discharged, so I knew it was on it's last leg, but then it really didn't owe us anything anymore at this point.

FWIW, my understanding is that if a battery is allowed to totally discharge, especially more that once, that will greatly decrease it's life, if not end it.